Helicopter tour

Last easter, while I was living in Reykjavik, Iceland, my friend Amanda from back home came to visit me. We went on a roadtrip around the Island, and when we came back to Reykjavik, we went on a helicopter tour with a company called Norðurflug, which was one of the most amazing things I’ve experienced. The tour went from the airport in Reykjavik (not Keflavik, the bigger international airport), and over the city and up to the summit of mount Esja. Amanda got to sit in the front on the way up. We also had three other people with us, they sat with me in the back. We landed on top of Esja, and it was really cold. Not that we noticed the low temperature very much, we were admiring the amazing view. From up there you have a view to the south over Reykjavik, and north towards Snæfellsnes and magnificent mountains. The pilot was really great, he answered all the questions we had, and seemed to have a good time himself. On the way down, I got to sit in the front with the pilot, and let me tell you; it was glorious. I’m not scared of flying, or of heights, so it was just really fun for me. We flew over the city once more, lower this time, and then landed safely back in the airport. We took loads of pictures, of course, here’s some of them.
– K

Leave a Reply

