Busy days

Hi!
I haven’t been blogging for a little while, and that’s because school has got me pretty stressed out. The picture is from my University, which is NTNU in Trondheim in Norway. This picture is from the Dragvoll campus. I don’t have a lot of classes at the moment, but I have a lot of work that has to be done. This semester I am writing something we call “Bacheloroppgave” in Norwegian, which translates to Bachelor thesis or something similar. It is basically a deeper study of a topic chosen by me, and I have about two and a half months to do it. Or now; less than two months. The paper is supposed to be around 15 to 20 pages, which is a lot for me. Normally we write assignments or papers on around six to ten pages, but this one is bigger and we have longer to do it.

Since I’m studying archaeology, I had to choose something inside the “walls” of that, which sometimes can be a bit difficult, because archaeology, history, anthropology and other sciences often kinda bleed into each other, like there are no real boundaries between them. But after thinking for a while, I realized there was something I’d like to know more about, that is relevant to my studies, and that needs more work done on it – but there is still enough work done on the topic to help me actually do this. I chose to write my bachelor thesis on “Gullgubber”/”Guldgubber” (gold-foil figures). Most people probably doesn’t know what they are, so here’s a few pictures;

(1, 2, 3)

Gullgubber are small gold-foil figures, approximately 1-2 square cm. These pictures show two of the five groups of Gullgubber – if you group them by motif. The five groups are; male, female, double – which is normally one of each sex, but there are a few exceptions where there are same sex depicted on the gullgubbe, – wraiths, and animals. Here I put in only the male and the double gullgubber. Gullgubber have only – as far as I know – been found in Norway, Sweden and Denmark, and are dated to around 4-500 to 8-900 AD.(Ratke & Simek, Guldgubber – an overview) This is an ongoing archaeological discussion. I find the topic very interesting, and I wanna know what they were used for, why were they put like we find them today, and what part did they play in society?

I’m excited to work on this, but it’s gonna be a lot of just that – work. So I better get my nose back in the book I’m currently reading for this paper!
I hope you’re doing well!
– K

Leave a Reply

